Introducing the FS Fashion Series + The best and worst costumes at Cup of China

Every figure skating fan watches the sport for different reasons: some love the technical side and the athleticism, some enjoy the drama that often accompanies skating, some like to follow the fascinating personalities involved in the sport, and some enjoy skating during the Olympics but really don’t care about it the other three years of every quad. But nearly every group of fans agrees on one thing: costumes are a big part of the appeal of skating. While gorgeous, drool-worthy costumes can enhance one’s enjoyment of a performance, it can be even more fun when an unexplainably strange outfit appears in a major event. Costumes are one of the main things that set figure skating apart from other sports, and I think that’s why they are of so much interest.

So, as they’re certainly one of my favorite skating things, I decided to start a series focusing on the best and worst costumes at major events-beginning with Cup of China. (This will cover ladies and dance, as that is all I watched of CoC.)

DANCE 

BEST: Hawayek/Baker-Short Dance

United State's Kaitlin Hawayek and Jean-Luc Baker compete in the Pair's Ice Dance Short Dance program during the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating held at the Capital Gymnasium in Beijing, China, Friday, Nov. 6, 2015. (AP Photo/Ng Han Guan)

Perhaps a bit much on the skirt (that much tulle is a bit overwhelming), but I loved the concept of these costumes. They’re fairly traditional ballet costumes (as they should be in a Nutcracker program)-I happen to like that. That shade of pink looks gorgeous on Kaitlin, and I liked the ombre bodice and gold details.

BEST: Chock/Bates-Short Dance

GettyImages_494009910_gsiyd53l_fpql1sfr

Because Chock/Bates’ short dance was not a story/narrative program with characters to portray, they could’ve done pretty much anything with their costuming and, provided it wasn’t atrocious or tacky, it probably would’ve made sense. I really liked what they decided to go with. Yes, they probably could’ve shown up at prom in these, but I liked the colors, they moved very well on the ice, and there was just enough bling. ๐Ÿ™‚ Interesting to note that Madison designs their costumes herself-I think these were a job very well done.

BEST: Chock/Bates again-Free Dance 

images

Another excellent costume for this team-Madisom & Evan really hit the costuming mark this season! Evan’s costume is rather meh (at least it’s not encrusted in swarovskis…), but Madison’s is fabulous. I am a complete sucker for ombre, and I also loved the one-shoulder neckline. This was actually the second FD dress she’s had this season and I definitely like it better than the last one. I really hope they don’t change their costumes again because these ones are great!

THE ACTUAL BEST :P: Cappellini/Lanotte-Free Dance 

134794253_14469474854511n

tumblr_nxfuhilXxD1rnltoyo1_500-1

I unfortunately couldn’t find a picture that fully showed these costumes (that’s why I used two-to show different angles), but take my word for it: they were some of the best ice dance costumes I have EVER seen! I absolutely loved Anna’s dress, and I usually hate black dresses because they’re usually boring-but this one wasn’t. The crystal-work was sublimely done and added a lot of interest, as did the “belt”, sweetheart neckline, and flared skirt. Luca’s understated costume was a fine complement to Anna’s: it wasn’t the stereotypical “I only wear black” men’s costume, but basic enough not to distract from Anna’s dress, which deserved the complete and undivided attention of the audience. :p I cannot wait to see these again…*heart eyes*!

WORST: Wang/Liu-Short dance

IMG_1814

Again, there were no good pictures of these costumes, and this is a screenshot of the YouTube video of their SD, taken on my iPhone-but even that should show the glaringly bright orangey pink color. ‘Cause a waltz year ain’t a waltz year until somebody shows up in neon. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Also, that side cutout needs to go.)

WORST: Ilinykh/Zhiganshin-Free dance 

ilinykhzhifanshin

Give me one good reason you should ever have a face on the back of your shirt.

LADIES 

BEST: Mao Asada-Free Skate

big

491092980-e1446659112710

Mao is, in my mind, consistently one of the best-costumed skaters, and this dress was no exception. Lavender is a great color on her (and she’s had at least three lavender dresses I can think of), and I really like purple, so of course I was going to like this dress. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really like that it’s made out of mesh-it gives it a much airier feel than other materials would, and it moves well (especially the bell sleeves, which are gorgeous). The butterfly appliques were a nice touch as well. The ombre effect on the sleeves and skirt were yet another cherry on top-there was really nothing I didn’t love about this dress

BEST: Hannah Miller-Short Program

It may have just been that I loved this program, but I thought Hannah’s Indian-inspired purple dress was just perfect for it. The gold details were a fun touch.

BEST: Zijun Li-Short Program

Zijun is another skater who always has beautiful costumes. I thought this one was particularly nice. The sparkle-factor was through the roof and I liked it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Also-surprise! I found a gif! #WhyAreThereNoGoodPicturesOfAnythignFromThisEvent

BEST: Elena Radionova-Short Program

IMG_1815

Peach is one of my favorite colors. Elena is one of my favorite skaters. She happens to look amazing in peach. Of course I liked this dress. ๐Ÿ™‚ The longer skirt really worked (it usually doesn’t) and the flowiness of the dress gave it a lovely, ethereal quality.

THE BEST: Rika Hongo-Free Skate

I will forever love the skater who made a Riverdance dress that is Riverdancy without being tacky, and Rika has done just that! A great dress to back up a great competition! I love the triangle thingies on the skirt and the flower appliques at the top of the bodice.

WORST: Courtney Hicks-Free Skate

Courtney, I love you, but this is hideous. Mustard yellow is nobody’s friend.

WORST: Nicole Rajicova-Short Program

This dress has one too many cutouts.

WORST: Zheng Lu-Free Skate

IMG_1819

Something about the cut of this dress was just not flattering.

Thanks for reading! If you liked this post, I’d love to hear from you! 

One thought on “Introducing the FS Fashion Series + The best and worst costumes at Cup of China

Leave a Reply

